SoftSport Leagues Blog


The premier club football competition in Africa, organized by the Confederation of African Football (CAF)

The CAF Champions League, often referred to simply as the African Champions League, is the most prestigious club football competition in Africa. It is organized by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) and features the top club teams from African countries. Here are some key details about the CAF Champions League:

  1. Format: The CAF Champions League typically follows a format that includes several rounds of knockout matches. It begins with a preliminary round, followed by a group stage, and culminates in the final. The top club teams from African leagues participate in these stages.CAF

  2. Participation: Clubs qualify for the CAF Champions League based on their performance in their respective domestic leagues. The number of slots allotted to each country is determined by the CAF club ranking. The top clubs from countries with stronger football leagues are usually allocated more slots.

  3. Preliminary Round: The preliminary round features teams with lower rankings in African club football. They play in home-and-away ties, with the winners advancing to the next round.

  4. Group Stage: After the preliminary round, the remaining teams are divided into groups. The group stage is a round-robin format, with clubs playing home and away matches against each other in their respective groups. The top teams from each group advance to the knockout stage.

  5. Knockout Stage: The knockout stage consists of two-legged ties, including the quarterfinals, semifinals, and the final. The matches are typically played over two legs, with one game at each team's home stadium. The away goals rule is usually applied to determine the winner in case of a tie.

  6. Final: The two teams that make it to the final compete for the CAF Champions League title. The final is a high-profile event, often attracting significant attention from football fans across Africa.

  7. Winner's Prize: The champion of the CAF Champions League not only earns the prestigious title but also qualifies for the FIFA Club World Cup, where they face club champions from other continents.

  8. Historic Success: Clubs from North African countries, particularly Egypt, Tunisia, and Morocco, have historically been very successful in the CAF Champions League. Clubs like Al Ahly, Zamalek, Esperance, and Wydad Casablanca have won the competition multiple times.

  9. Scheduling: The CAF Champions League typically runs from late in the calendar year through to the following year, with the final usually held in late spring.

The CAF Champions League is an important competition for African football, showcasing the talent and quality of club teams on the continent. It provides an opportunity for African clubs to compete on an international stage and qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup, where they can face some of the world's top clubs.


Latest Updates

The premier club football competition in Africa, organized by the Confederation of African Football (CAF). . . . . Read Post
Development and promotion of football at the community level with a focus on youth and amateur players. . . . . Read Post

Recommended for You

FKF Nakuru Sub Branch Mid Week Under 15 League Results and Fixtures. . . . . Read Post

Football Retouch Fantasy Football League. . . . . Read Post




: +254 720 279 909

About Us

Contact us if you would wish to have this system help you manage your league or tournament.

We aim to promote and develop the football game throughout the country at the grassroot level.